drums, electric guitar and See Wern Hao

See Wern Hao is the latest, living and active poet to grant me permission to recreate two pieces of his poetry as video on Youtube.  Given his penchant for quoting popular music as inspiration for his work both poetic pieces are complimented with dramatic, rock-esque music.

Promoting poetry on Youtube is still a slow build for me but these young, vital poets keep me going.  While pursuing a degree in law and liberal arts, See Wern Hao is keeping his lit lit by participating in the 2017 Singapore Writers Festival and scattering his work, like seeds, over the fields of social media and online journals.  He is everything that I think a young writer should be: active, available, smart, keeping busy and out of trouble.  I totally made up the last part.  I have no idea how much trouble he gets into.  I do know that when I was in school, I spent a little too much of my time ‘doing something close to nothing, but different than the day before’ [quote from Raspberry Beret, Prince].  I also held the immature idea back then that all I needed to do to be a great writer was hone my craft — which included getting into interesting experiences to write about — and somehow and someway, publishers would find my talent like a beacon calling out to them.  I was not nearly as active or in tune to my other options as Mr. Hao.

I also don’t know for a fact that See Wern Hao is all the things that I claim he is.  I say it because I see it in the body of work that he has produced of himself online.  I see it in his commitment to his poetry.  It’s one thing to spread your work around and another to hone your craft.  Two completely different things.  He’s got the right balance and I can’t wait to see how his craft and career grows in years to come.

I am amazed to follow after this next generation of poets when just a few years ago I honestly believed that all our great poets were from older generations or generations gone by and poetry was a wilting art.

Please check out below the two new videos on the lyw Youtube channel … a channel exploring the online potential for shared and sharing literary works.  **Videos are best seen in the highest HD setting otherwise the text looks blurry.

1. a poet is only madness … a poem by See Wern Hao

2. Home of the Professional Dreamers … a poem by See Wern Hao

© lyw 

Thank you to Unsplash.com for the use of their beautiful library of hi-res photography in the making of these videos.

Leave a Reply

