summer somewhere on lywtube

a fragment from a long poem by Danez Smith

a fragment from a long poem by Danez Smith

Summer, somewhere is a poem with a slow build like a quiet voice speaking up in the corner of an empty room.  Please check out the below link to this poetry video and give it time to build.  Towards the middle it blooms into something intimate and thoughtful and emotionally intelligent.

Pieces of this long poem, by Danez Smith, are currently featured on the lyw Youtube channel, including a 2nd poem entitled, it doesn’t feel like a time to write. 

I met Danez online during research for the 2015/2016 poetry campaign that launched the said Youtube channel.  He is a young, active and talented poet producing as well as performing poetry live and online.

a poem by Danez Smith

a poem by Danez Smith

Poetry freshly pressed, virtually and dynamically in video, and also a poet fresh and too young to need pressing: a combination I rarely find when I look for poetry.  But we’re going to change that, right?  I’m on the hunt for those young, or old (<–can’t be prejudice against my own kind), living, contemporary, and active poets who are interested in a growing, revitalized poetry market, one that isn’t niche, almost private or somebody’s sentimental hobby but one that is on the immediate pulse of our daily lives and modern zeitgeist.

I’ve copied below my favourite quotes as a sampler to the videos:

from the poem summer, somewhere by Danez Smith:

there, I knew how to swim but couldn’t.

there, men stood by shore & watched me blue.
there, I was a dead fish, the river’s prince.

there, I had a face & then I didn’t.
there, my mother cried over me

but I wasn’t there. I was here, by my own
water, singing a song I learned somewhere

south of somewhere worse. that was when
direction mattered. now, everywhere

I am is the center of everything.
I must be the lord of something.

what was I before? a boy? a son?
a warning? a myth? I whistled

now I’m the God of whistling.
I built my Olympia downstream.

from summer, somewhere by Danez Smith:

if you press your ear to the dirt
you can hear it hum, not like it’s filled

with beetles & other low gods
but like a mouth rot with gospel

& other glories. listen to the dirt
crescendo a boy back.

Link to poetry video of ‘summer, somewhere’ by Danez Smith:

 

Link to poetry video ‘It doesn’t feel like a time to write’ by Danez Smith:

© lyw  

Leave a Reply

