A Poet’s Words Pressed through a Tube Named lyw

https://sabiscuit.wordpress.com/WordPress allows me to subscribe to one artist’s journey the way traditional forms of publishing never did.   I am always comparing, because I am still always amazed, at how different the literary world is from just twenty years ago.

Today, I launch two new poetry videos on the lyw YouTube channel, because a WordPress poet and artist allowed me to play with some of the work on her site which I had admired.

SB is a poet and artist on WordPress at Sabiscuit.wordpress.com.  You’d think that I would be less interested in making a video of poetry that was not my own.  It’s actually a very creative and engaging process to make them.  The research and development of these videos open me to new ideas for my own creative writing.  The David et Goliath video-poem has some bright celestial punch to it and is nicely counter-balanced by the softer and quieter video-poem, Luminous.  These videos feature a writer and an artist who has a talent for working with the different shades that can happen with light.

Please check out the links to these videos at the bottom of this blog, and let’s let the work speak for itself.

This opportunity to work with another writer’s poetry is very unique to my current literary climate. Most of the real books (as in not e-books) in my personal library are of great masters whose human bodies have long since passed on or, they are writers who I could never imagine writing back to me if I had a question about their work.  I will most likely never have direct contact with them.  I will most likely never have access to their daily, personal thoughts as writers or human beings.  My impressions of these writers remain as theories in my head.  This is a good thing, in many ways. For one, eventually, I learned to answer some of those questions myself thereby truly making these writers’ novels and poetry my own — as a reader.  There is a lot of value in giving myself that time to be immersed in another’s artwork.

However, this WordPress/social media thing does something for writers that I believe may be historical, at least to my creative writing world.  Not only are creative writers given more power to be their own ‘companies’, make their names their brands, but we do this by showing how human and individual we are as artists.  Twenty years ago self-publishing was either an act of desperation or that of a hobbyist.  Writing on a day-to-day personal level, as bloggers often do, would not have been deemed professional. Bloggers would have probably been classified as self-publishing columnists back in my day.  Today, social media allows writers to develop an unique kind of relationship with their readership, one that can be both social and professional.   On this plane, writers present themselves as humans, just like everyone else.

Well, of course, writers are humans, you might say.  And I would tell you that it was a popular way to think, when and where I was a wee lass, that writers, as people who were trying to be true observers of life, were isolated and different from the rest of society.  Either we were too brilliant or too spaced out from observation to fit well with the rest of society  The fact is that we have had some amazing writers in our human history who have had the wisdom and foresight to fit the more flattering version of that persona. However, there is a more heart-warming connection to those great writers when I allow myself to observe, even in the most brilliant of them, their beautiful human flaws.

Writers on social media, such as SB, present literature and art that is accessible, responsive and actively part of everyday life.  When we think of writers like that, I think, this will go a long way to make fiction and the literary market more accessible in popular media.

These are new lit thoughts for me and I thank you for letting me share my chew on them through this blog.  I’m not quite sure about them and am curious to see how they will evolve with time.

Here are those video links that I mentioned earlier.  I hope you enjoy them:

David et Goliath – a poem by SB:

Luminous – a poem by SB:

© lyw 

2 thoughts on “A Poet’s Words Pressed through a Tube Named lyw

  1. Lillian, thank you so much for the glowing words of support. I thoroughly enjoyed how you’ve presented the poems. The music is exquisite and visually, the art you’ve chosen (not the ones from my blog) are thrilling to see. Knowing that people read my work, I feel motivated to keep working, refining and polishing my craft. Much of what makes art accessible is the ongoing conversation with viewers. I think that an artist’s inner world should tune into the feedback so that whatever is produced thereafter might be considered a collaboration. Warm wishes.

Leave a Reply

