a tantric guide

Slide1a tantric guide is a funny poem about a woman’s introduction to tantric yoga in her pursuit of personal wisdom while living in an urban, middle-class society.

Yoga has been a popular form of exercise in almost every major Western city for decades.  Not only is it great exercise, it helps the body prevent and heal from injury – and some argue, from sickness.  The physical practice also calms the mind and relaxes stress.

Yoga is more than just physical exercise, however, since the physical is enough to cover the above benefits, most of us don’t look further.  In the twenty years that I have practiced yoga, I satisfied myself mainly with just the physical study and a little meditation.

The focus of this poem surrounds my attempt to go a little further out there into tantric yoga — with as open a mind as I could possibly manage.  I started with a book.  I took from it what wisdom I could but had to leave a lot of it behind.

Tantric yoga is a fascinating study that makes the asanas (physical exercises) of yoga seem like child’s play in comparison.  Though there is wisdom in this study, I am glad that I had enough self-awareness to decide what was or was not for me.  I’m also glad that I didn’t close myself completely at the first sign of ‘I ain’t doing that’, for I would have lost the opportunity to find what beauty and wisdom that I did in tantric yoga.  I didn’t forcefully reject anything.  I put aside what wasn’t for me, kept what seemed good for further consideration and continued to the end of the book.

Slide2One needs the courage to be vulnerable to accept life lessons. However, one also needs the self-confidence to know when something is not right for him or her. This may seem difficult if one is trying to learn that self-confidence.  I think your heart will always tell you, regardless, if you listen carefully.  I hope so, anyway.

You know what I think is my saving grace in life lessons?  I never take myself too seriously.  Lessons, I absorb as earnestly as I can but I remind myself that I am an absurd little human and I learn wisdom very slowly and because I am uniquely absurd, somebody else’s mantra is not necessarily my own.

I have wondered if this mindset prevents me from taking the greater wisdom from life lessons.  This has been suggested a few times in my personal and literary studies as much as the opposite.  I do take some things very seriously but this is an exclusive list.  And even then, I think there is room for a little humour.

I hope you enjoy this funny poem despite being a little out there.

© lyw

 

Leave a Reply

