the Search for Feng Shui

Feng shui is a style of design that can be applied to the furniture of your business, house and mind.  It’s fun to think that the art of design can be applied that widely.  Leaves one with the feeling of being well-covered.

When I got my first apartment in my twenties, I did a little feng shui research and applied what suited me to the space.  I didn’t go overboard despite promises of immeasurable fortune or misfortune if I put or didn’t put this or that in my place because from all those rules there seemed to be a general gist that was the main wise to get: feng shui is the cultivation of flow, harmony and balance in any space I choose to occupy, though usually referring to a physical space, feng shui is also applicable to virtual, mental and artistic spaces.

And, I thought to myself, if that’s the case, I should be able to rely — at least a little bit – on my own heart and mind to tell me what gives me a sense of harmony and balance.  If not, how can anybody else?

A random Internet search on this subject leads to a lot of dubious websites and consultants that imply my life and luck is dependent on what sofa I have and how I place it.  Feng shui is very old.  Along the way it shouldn’t be surprising that some people have profited by stimulating this practice with our deepest fears and insecurities.

However, there is a lot of good wisdom to be found in feng shui.  It sticks out like a nice piece of solid oak.

For example:

Don’t place things in your way: Good idea.  Yet, who has not seen or been guilty of blocking a doorway or staircase with stuff?  How many written reports have taken several paragraphs to get to the real story?  How many websites are weighed down by graphics, blings or text that don’t help direct traffic or information to the purpose of the site?

Don’t have pointy or sharp edges facing your body: (ie table corners).  Some call this superstition; others would say it’s just good safety.

Balance your elements:  Dark/light; soft/hard; water/fire (go easy on the fire elements); earth/air.

Cut clutter: What we bring into a space, changes the energy of that space.  Be conscious of the things that you let into your space and really consider their necessity and purpose.  Clutter has a way of finding itself in our path and requires regular maintenance.

I don’t think I would ever pay somebody to apply feng shui to my lifestyle.  The information online, feng shui or not, is full of dark omens and good fortune.   I trust my own heart to know what wise is or isn’t.   What does it say about a consultant if their information on how to create flow and harmony, leaves the client feeling trapped, rigid and afraid to make choices on his/her own?

The process of exploring feng shui can also be a practice in self-discovery.  I become my own consultant and personal designer to my sense of peace and harmony.  Wouldn’t it be nice if the idea of letting somebody else design that kind of space becomes the truly foreign concept?

Some links on feng shui:

Leave a Reply

