Qabbani’s Letter from a Stupid Woman

salsa2The first poem that I read from Nizar Qabbani was ‘A Letter from a Stupid Woman.’  At first, I thought this was a poet who had been bitter towards a lover.  On the contrary, it is a beautiful and thought-provoking poem from a poet who loved women.  This poem’s simple honesty is powerful and elegant and continues to have a lasting impact on me.

Late last year I made the attempt to revitalize my interest in poetry.  When was the last time you asked somebody if they had a favourite poet or poem?  I was jaded but I started that way.  I expected people to tell me that they did not read poetry.  In this way, I met Qabbani’s poetry.  I was lucky to have clicked on this poem first.

Leave a Reply

