A Real Body Shop: Home-made Vanilla Perfume Oil recipes

I recently wrote a customer comment to the Body Shop regarding the discontinuation of some of their perfume oils, mainly my favourite: the Vanilla Perfume Oil.  I wrote that I was disappointed by this and one Google search on ‘body shop discontinued vanilla perfume oil‘ showed that I was not the only one.

I also suggested that due to this disappointment a re-launch of these products might make a profitable marketing campaign as consumers of non-essential products would come out for nostalgia alone.

I received a cold and generic form letter and I did not want to settle for that response.

Is vanilla perfume oil so hard to make?   One additional Google search on, ‘vanilla perfume oil recipe’, showed me simple to complex recipes, conversations and ideas all about home-made perfume oils.  I felt like Alice in a whole new Wonderland!

Now a friend once told me that I needed to understand the mind of the average consumer – who are apparently all like him.  He buys things not only for the product but convenience and has no interest in finding out where to buy jojoba oil, vanilla beans, or watching these things soak in perfectly good vodka.

I am thoroughly entertained by the idea that I might be able to produce this prized product and hope to make an adventure out of discovering what makes this a passionate subject for all those websites I found in my Google search.  Yes, the trial and error risks might make this more of a nightmare, however, it would be less interesting without them.

Vanilla Perfume Oil recipes:

Finally, for a scent closer to the product once sold by the Body Shop, one website has provided the following analysis:  Fragrantica.com

What is the Real Body Shop?  It’s my own.  As a consumer in this Western hemisphere, I am the business of finding the right products and services for me.  And a good real body shop owner would take the time to make the most intelligent and suitable choices for his/her body, rather than trust whatever a brand or price suggests.

Now some things are harder to make or do than others, of course.  I’m not going to try any electrical engineering or amateur plumbing based on any Google searches.  Or I don’t know, maybe …

12 thoughts on “A Real Body Shop: Home-made Vanilla Perfume Oil recipes

  1. Dear Lillian
    All you need to do to make this perfume is 1/2 cup of grape seed oil (absorbs well into the skin and is less greasy) and 1 to 2 vanilla bean pods.
    Take half a been pod, chop well and place in the oil. A mason jar works but so does a jam jar (clean of course). You have two options cold or hot infusion. Cold is you leave the jar and oil in a dark corner for a few weeks, shaking it daily or you can do warm in a crock pot. Place water up to where the oil ends in the crock pot and then put it on minimum or the lowest setting. It will take about 6 to 8 hours. You can leave it longer if you like, I leave mine about 2 days. Then you remove the bean pod and replace it with the other half. Do this till you get the strong vanilla smell. You may need to use more than two vanilla beans. Then you can add essential oils to your taste. I would suggest yllang ylang and coriander. You will find with some practice you can master the scent you are looking for.

    yours truly
    J9t
    all the way from Argentina

  2. I have been wearing vanilla perfume oil from the Body Shop for 24 years! And whilst the formula has changed a bit over that time, I have remained loyal to the product (and the company.) I was equally disappointed to find that it had been discontinued and refuse to pay the outrageous prices people are asking for on e-bay. Thanks for the recommendations and the recipe, I look forward to making my own – perhaps for the next 24 years!

    • I absolutely LOVED the original vanilla oil but the replacement they brought out is absolutely horrible and a very poor substitute so I never buy anything from there these days as don’t really like any of the products they sell now. I also LOVED the old original vanilla body lotion and bubble bath and was also very disappointed when they took the perfumed oils away and replaced with the sprays only How did your recipe go by the way?

  3. I too wrote to the company about the Vanilla oil perfum of the 90’s. Apperently, IN THE WORLD, people did not have interest for this scent primarily because it clashed with the scent of their skin.

    Understand that people in the America’s do not eat much spicy/garlic/etc. foods (compared to Chinese or Indian for example) so our skin has a more of a neutral scent…therefore, vanilla smells like vanilla. So if you mix garlic or Curi to Vanilla, it gets less interesting. So the sales over here where not enough to keep this version alive. A sales person from the Body Shop about 10 years ago explained this to me. I am also very frustrated about this. The new versions DO NOT smell like a ”vanilla cake fresh out of the oven”.

    • I absolutely LOVED the original vanilla oil but the replacement they brought out is absolutely horrible and a very poor substitute so I never buy anything from there these days as don’t really like any of the products they sell now. I also LOVED the old original vanilla body lotion and bubble bath and was also very disappointed when they took the perfumed oils away and replaced with the sprays only Have you ever found another vanilla oil that has been similar?

  4. I am very excited to have found this as I too have worn this scent for longer than I can remember. It is my “signature” essentially and I miss it! I purchased some online, at an astronomical price which is almost gone, and am excited to try making my own! Thank you for this!!!

  5. I recently received a question about whether I knew if the Body Shop Vanilla Oil perfume had been relaunched. Unfortunately, the answer is no.

    My attempt to make it myself also had poor results. It didn’t smell like anything. I still haven’t tried the other recipe using vodka but I’m not optimistic.

    Honestly, I think what we need is a good chemist and a sample of the original perfume (I actually still have a little but it’s very old) and then we might be able to replicate it — for personal use only, of course. I even have a couple of friends who are chemist, but I’m sure they would be annoyed with me if I asked them to try this experiment. i cant help but think the recipe for smelling like a vanilla ice-cream cone shouldn’t be that complicated!

    For your reference, I found a Facebook community for these perfume oils at this link: https://www.facebook.com/Bring-back-the-BODY-SHOP-Perfume-Oils-115313028550164/

    It appears one of their top priorities is figuring out this Vanilla oil recipe. Boggles the mind that this has not encouraged the Body Shop company to do a relaunch.

    And the Body Shop should also know that despite the changes this blog site has gone through since I first posted this subject in 2012, this post has always received the most clicks.

  6. I am wayyyy late to the game as I had a huge horde of the vanilla oil (when they closed all the brick and mortar stores in the US ~5 years ago, I seriously loaded up). But now I’m almost out and finding that it’s been discontinued 😦 I am seriously heartbroken! Will definitely have to try to recreate it on my own as it’s also my signature scent and the only parfum-like anything that doesn’t make my allergies go crazy! Sadness all around

Leave a Reply

